youtube mamma

Standard

I dont encourage firstborn to watch TV. But youtube is different, I think.my friend bhu, once told me that children can really pick up several languages from 0 to 6.

So I had my idea-of-the-month..

it’s playing nursery rhymes of every language on youtube … i am happy that my child will familiarise himself with several indian languages… telugu, tamil, kannada and hindi; and i think it’s enjoyable. The tunes and the music are very localised, they have a unique flavour.

now finally, the wheels on the bus tune in my head has been replaced with “chal chal gurrrrrrrrrram”…

here are the links to startyou off…

telugu rhyme

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9V4v13gz3Oc&feature=related

kannada rhyme

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlo4ZaogsFI

chinese rhyme

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1jdMfApVig

for hindi

i chose lakdi ki kathi and for carnatic music i’ve chosen bho shambo (by maharajapuram santhanam…)

**

it’s working. his malaysian classmate, also three years old, comes to our home demanding “bho jumbo”!

One response »

  1. Oh Lakdi ki kathi, I sang that all the time when I was small at my Uncle’s place (mom’s brother) where the milkman came in a horse driven cart. And I now I sing that to my son too!

Leave a Reply

