tagged

Standard

by Abirami the smartassbride. thank you thank you…for l’awarde

a few tags ago, i used to be scared of tags and the introspection.
this one was easy, though.

***
three things i love about me…

heirloom:
Strange how I thought I would never put this down on a list. Considering how often I have dreamed about one impulsive visit to the salon. To have it all chopped off.

At 31, away from home and ma. I now look at my hair differently. As a heirloom er hairloom. Once maintained oiled, shikakaid, towel-dried, fan-dried and sambraneed by my grandma and my ma…

High Maintenance is all upto me. My hair which is really a heavy thick rope that’s about three feet long. Falls well below my ample hips… Takes 40 minutes to comb.
. One hour to wash. And three hours to dry.
The combing and the tangles and the split-ends and the graying…isn’t the pretty part.

But strangely it’s now a part of me that I love

**
think f.a.s.t
the ideas comes in a trice. synapses fire. whir of emotion. blur of outside world. my eyes are bright. there’s another. now five. now fifteen. choose.

**
think s.l.o.w.

Children, generally speaking, were never my superspeciality.
Heck. They weren’t even my subspeciality. In fact. they bored me, tired me and puzzled me.

I am an only child. Happiest in the company of elders.

And I was surprised to find that motherhood/ raising children is s.l.o.w in so many ways.
Almost five years into this job, i am surprised that I have accepted that somethings take their time. i am patient enough to watch my kids grow (even though I have wanted to rush back to my workplace screaming “No need to pay me. I’ll pay you!”)

i understand their pace is different. that they dont have patience to watch me finish my book. to wait till a handmade craft dries.
i dont have the patience to fill a bag full of water/sippy cups/diapers/ snack/ plaything etc just to go to the neighbour’s house; or to wait for a toddler to outgrow thumbsucking or a preschooler to learn math with carryover in less than a day.

I am proud to have slowly learned not to hurry.

***

passed to three non- bloggers viz: M, Reva and sub. Please use this space to do the tags. I love non-bloggers who comment. I think you guys are really brave.

41 responses »

  1. Such a beautiful post, MiM!
    I love your hairloom, and the gift your children have given you, of making haste slowly.
    And your supersonic wit, which all your readers love.

    • from my own shrinking wallflowerness.
      i read blogs for a whole year and didnt click on the comments line. not once.

  2. *hugs fellow only child* 😀 I didn’t know that about you!!!

    Do you know abt any workplace that I can pay to get me away too??!!

    Post a pic of your hairloom….sounds so lovely!

    • hey hey hey.
      no one said anything about hairloom being lovely.
      it’s long and thick, oily in parts, dry in other -and the opposite of fine, soft and silky — in fact it’s coarse and quite haylike

  3. standing in the queue behind starsinmyeyes : Only child? you too?

    and your post: l.o.v.e.l.y. said slowly, without haste…
    to add to your tag
    three things i love about the posts on this blog :
    -single brushstrokes that resonate with the entire picture
    -razor sharp wit
    -a non fussy take on motherhood

    • sur. you say the nicest things.

      you know, i think i can afford your Rs. 5,000 a sitting fee as a shrink.
      (my kiddies education fund be damned .)

    • er math isnt my strongest point. i am 5 foot 6 and my hair must be half my height (i think) … so. er i think that would make it 2 feet. ?

      but it takes so long to reach from north to south that it feels like three feet.

  4. Wish I had thick long hair… If MY hair was thick, I would have let it grow like Rapunzel’s. But sadly sadly sadly it isnt. 😦 If I ever grew it enough to be able to plait it, it would look like eli-vaal 😦 Am very glad you’re rejoicing in your hairloom. You should! 🙂

    • hey shyam. i cant tell you how i have yearned for short, maintenance free hair…

      and this mane of mine isnt even beautiful. it’s just thick and gets tangled every time i exhale

  5. Mim,
    Too much neenga..will do it, but to be honest, I dont know if I wud be any gud at doing it. Give me some time, came back home after some travelling!

  6. Yaay! Its the first time I’ve been tagged 🙂 But as TPL asked, why brave?

    Here you go..
    – I love my hair too. Not as thick and long as yours. But I love how straight and soft it is and how it stands by me though I don’t give it the time and attention like before. I recently had it chopped shoulder level and kinda feel almost ‘hip’ !
    – My smile. The husband sometimes asks me when he sees me talking to a friend over phone ‘do you think they can see your smile through the phone?’ and I say ‘they totally can’ 😀
    – I love that I love to learn/try new things. Be it in the kitchen or any arts n crafts. I do know that I belong to the ‘jack of all trades…’ gang. And it is ok coz my life is filled with variety!

    • thanks for doing the tag…:-)
      i think you should put down “lucky” too … i thought NO one was going to crack that contest

  7. I totally missed writing abt ur post… loved it. Esp the motherhood part – beautifully written. And a big bow for having the patience to maintain those long tresses. Pic pls..:)

  8. Hi Mim
    Getting to the tag right away…
    1.Probably, not me, but a part of me- my baby thats due by 2nd week of october.
    2.That I cook well and a variety of it all..
    3.I love the way I love my dear ones, cant beat that.

    Sorry Mim, this cud probably be th wurrrsshhhttt tag, but I dint want to back out so wrote something.And abt my mail id, its really not a valid one.

  9. Woah – didn’t notice that I was tagged…(blush) – me? And brave? huh.

    Wokay, 3 things about myself:

    1. my completeley catholic tastes in reading – I was a bookworm as a child, that willingness to read anything and everything has stood me in good stead – I know enough to BS about a wide variety of topics! 🙂
    2. My practical nature – despite occasional twinges of wanting otherwise, practicality wins out in most scenarios.
    3. My height – I am not very tall by global standards, but 5’7″, back when I was growing up was considered *very* tall – I reached my adult height at age 11 or so, and hated being miles taller than my contemporaries – now I love it! My height is in my legs (i.e. longer legs than torso) and I love the way I look in heels!

    • hey. i noticed that you are practical too… hi 5 to me.
      thanks for doing the tag. you must be gorgeous with heels i think… i should try it. i am almost 5’6

Leave a Reply

