adi sankara jayanthi

Standard

one of the people, I often think must be a legend. can’t be real…

his volume of brilliant work, and short life spent in travel and social reform…

One of the people, IMO, who didn’t have anything to do with religion and everything to do with spirituality.

I took heart with his words “swadesho bhuvana trayam” ( and my country is the universe…) when I didn’t want to leave India and move to Kuala Lumpur.

 And how much happier I am now being a citizen of the world, rather than wearing only an Indian identity.

i leave you with my favourite composition of adi sankara’s…  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbYVVNGnicI

6 responses »

  1. Man, I don;t show up for 2 days and there’s a flurry of posts. First off, I hope everything’s ok at your end… sending calm, peaceful, happy thoughts your way. Use as needed.

    Also, had to chime in and say, i love the Kanakadhara stotram, it has been my New Year resolution for the last 3 years to memorize it, haven’t done it yet. I hope to, this year. Did you know saying this on a daily basis will cause a shower of gold coins (namely a lot of moolah showing up in your bank account with no attendant tax issues)? There aren’t too many shlokas like that, to my knowledge. Tk care MiM.

    • and it’s a very freeing-the-head kinda thought; i was a horrible “patriot” till college; i refused to even get my passport because i wouldnt leave india, even for a holiday!
      sheesh.

  2. Oh yes on the world is my home thingy. Also on the sheer brilliance of Adi Shankara. I have many favourites from his compositions: current one is the Veda Sara shiva stotram in Hamir Kalyani by TMK, both for the words and the singing. But there are so many more.

    • hamir kalyani is such a winner, no?
      we had to mug annapoornashtakam for a recitation comp in school: awesome too…

Leave a Reply

