social experiments

Standard

ma bought me a book titled ‘one-minute mother’. i assumed it would tell me that it’s enough to be a mother for 60 sec and since you are done, you can head out to a spa, where an attendant turns the page of the book you are reading, and you can hear the rustling of leaves and buddha motifs are strewing the place.

oh well.
not quite.

well the book says ‘you have to catch your kids doing something right and appreciate the hell out of them’ or words to that effect. [because what we usually do is catch kids doing something wrong and scold the hell out of them.]

and i saw the postwoman walking the long route — and gave her a ride back to the post office; and appreciated the hell out of her.

then i saw the milkvendor lady who asked me why i was lugging extra milk from the store when i could just call and door deliver from her husband — totally gave her 10/10 for astute businesssense.

then there was this nilgiris shopgirl who fished out a brand of dates i wanted without me telling. 20/20 for presence of mind.

easier to apply this to the rest of the world; off to work on the kids. and it is work.

#unusualthingsspousedoes heads for an overnight trip with laptop, cellphone, chargers and papers; only after reaching his destination he realises he has forgotten his suitcase which has clothes, shaving kit and toothbrush. priorities. pshaw.

just finished reading a biography of ramana maharishi. i want to go to thiruvannamalai eat at the ashram, off a banana leaf and not waste a single grain of rice, just like the saint did. also want to see the temple of arunachala. totally love the dikshitar kriti in saranga, and what about saranga is not to love.

14 responses »

    • wow… i got the feeling from the book, but since the maharishi passed away many years ago, i wondered…

      so the aura still exists..
      have you written about it swaram.

  1. I remember the ACK I read on him and loved it. So, it’s not just the DH who goes to work and realizes he’s left his laptop back home or goes to the store without his wallet. Good to know!!

  2. Oh that would be me MiM.
    Lugged a heavy load of our NGO brochures (for a fund-raising event) to the post office (and in this London weather with several layers of clothing to keep out the cold and the rain) with two chillan, and then realised I had forgotten the address of the lady who will be doing the fund-raising. Cursed myself and almost decided to take the train to drop it off to her place somewhere in North England.

    Frantically called up the man – realised my phone was out f currency – hadn’t topped it up. So called using the India number – costs a bomb a minute. All the Gods were collectively smiling at me – he actually took my call! Said he’d mine out the address from my mailbox and after about 3 hours (okay 3 minutes) he called up and kindly read the address out.

    After all this, I find that the address in Q was printed ON the brochures. Every single one of them.

    AARGH. Anyway the stuff has reached the lady so all is well I suppose.

    • my carpool friend here forgot her son, and picked the other three – 2 of mine 1 of hers– and marched them back to the car…and when she started the engine her mil sitting in the car waiting, asked her when kid 2, was… and she ran back to school to find her sobbing toddler.

      i identify with this incident so much that i think i did that.

  3. I say, if we weren’t such Type Zzzs we’d be polishing a draft of One Minute Mother, Next Minute Headless Chicken. But apparently publishers don’t do dishes, so what’s the point?

    Don’t get me started on spousal priorities. Mine had every electronic device and its mother charged before our month-long India trip last year and forgot to pack his own underwear. I’ll be lying if I said I suppressed my wicked laughter.

Leave a Reply

