kabir – the weaver poet

Standard

by jaya madhavan.

A book with a story that must be told. The story of Kabir in my memory was from the pages of an Amar Chitra Katha. But this book was part fiction, part fantasy and part narrative.

And here’s my own wistful couplet…that filled my mind after reading the book.

Had I memorised the Dohas as a child and made them my own,
The words would have returned to me, as wisdom, now that I am grown.


Here’s Kabir on sweet speech

Aisi Vaani boliye, man ka aapa khoye,
Auran ko sheetal kare, aapahu sheetal hoye.

And this one on where God is…

kasturi kundali basai, mrig dhoonde ban maahi,
Aise ghati ghati ram hai, duniya dekhe naahi

And this one on the rosary

Maala pherat jag bhaya, mita na man ke pher,
Kar ka mankar chhor de, man ka manka pher.

4 responses »

  1. the book says that the pundit and the mullah unwittingly found themselves reciting the verses, because they were so catchy.

    I cant wait for my sons to read the ACK

Leave a Reply

