bajjis at the beach

Standard

DSC_0283

DSC_0284

DSC_0289

DSC_0293

about a 100 students from a school for mentally challenged children and adults were at the beach …

and what a marathon-task it was for the teachers…. to round the children (and adults) up, line them up to the waves, give them bajjis, deal with bathroom breaks, keep an eye out for the hyperactive, heave-ho the man(child) whose feet couldn’t make it past a steep step, match the child into his or her bus to head back…

it was uphill all the way.
flashback memories returned of my college days where i worked at a special school for my internship — i remember how i cheered for mainstreaming, how slow could be s.l.o.w. That time i was all gung-ho for parents, who i thought, were THE role-models of patience and love.

Today i was on the teachers’ side, (who ate their bajjis last, after every child had finished), for making this trip happen. An old gentleman on the beach stuffed some money into the trip’s co-ordinator and said “what a wonderful job, you are doing”. i sat quietly on the sidelines and agreed.

15 responses »

  1. I too volunteered for a special children’s group for about a month. But didn’t have the strength to continue. I used to come home and cry. So now I only do stories. And I still cry.

    • do you listen to sadhguru? or read his books? I am a new listener — he hits all the hammers on their head one by by one. and zero religion. go for it rekha

      • Yes, I do. My brother used to live in Coimbatore. He took me to the Isha Ashram once. Peaceful. Serene. I have a few CDs and books. Haven’t read them all. Will do. The thing is I was going overboard with everything – including spirituality, in the sense, I wanted to read and know everything. So took some time off. Am getting back now. Slowly.

  2. Moved and thank you for sharing. Cried by seeing the happy boy enjoying his bajji, it came out of some un-explainable pain…the lump I felt in the throat tells me it’s not out of sympathy…but some connection…Thank you…

  3. I taught at a blind school when I was in college and it was heartbreaking. How do you explain a rainbow to child blind from birth?

  4. whenever i have worked with children/folks like these, i have come away with a sense of awe – at how happy they can be with all their issues, and a slight sense of shame – at how much i crib about my non-issues.

    it is always always a bettering experience – for me.

Leave a Reply

