To be a smile millionaire

Standard

I am excessively ambitious for my kids, just like your average helicopter mum. I could call it grooming or moulding.
But pushy should do.

If I could make them do exactly as I say, then
I’d like for them both to be smile millionaires, like paramahansa yogananda wrote.

I have been thinking of his words this week,

β€œLet my soul smile through my heart and my heart smile through my eyes, that I may scatter rich smiles in sad hearts.”

And everyday when I fetch them from school, I ask them if they were smile millionaires ?

Today, I told baby param that smiling gives you energy when you are tired. And he bought it.

Now, to practice what I stood on my pedestal and preached.

at kalaripayatu class then,

Usually, I am thoughtful and watchful.

Am I getting it right? Am I kicking as high as a 36 year old mother of two can? am I swivelling or are my hips lying? Did that falter look awkward? Ulp. There. Another falter. Am I improving at ALL? Omg ! is that woman wearing skin coloured tights and bending over? It looks ghastly! I mean she should really move away from my line of vision at least. And what about that short mum, What? She joined after me and she can already do the back bend?

I did my routine with a smile today.
I smiled during the lunges, the punches and the break. I smiled when I jumped. I smiled when I stretched. I smiled at people, I smiled at the space between two people. I smiled at my instructor, when she wasn’t looking. I smiled at her when she was. I smiled watching a child do her routine, as intensely and gracefully as the instructor. I smiled at the colours of the flowers arranged at the altar.

Today, there was only the smile. No thought. No mind chatter. Just the smile. And maybe I jumped higher than I usually did?

8 responses »

  1. I will recognise you from a million miles away thanks to your million smiles.

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    1 πŸ™‚ = 200,000 smiles

  2. You go girl! Ismiles, Kalaripayattu and all, wow. The MIM moniker me thinks needs a rehaul. Like WIM(woman in a mission) or stick to MIM(but it now stands for Main in Masti) or…..

    • My own version isn’t as complimentary as yours. But it’s rather accurate…

      Motherhood inspite of Muddling
      Mostly idiotic Mumbo
      Mind it, Messy
      Me ignore Marbles

      • I likee no. 1 there mostly because it will make two of us that match it ditto:-) I’ve muddled my way thru for 10 years and have no plans on improving. The next 10 years….God help the onlyborn!

        • Onlyborn must be handling it like a pro. Grown up and v mature, am sure.

          Not to worry. Life is a breeze for you mums!
          Girl?

Leave a Reply

